Print

From Louis Martin to his daughter Marie - September 16, 1885.

From Louis Martin to his daughter Marie

Constantinople, 16th September 1885.

Dear Marie,

I have a moment and I’m taking advantage of it to send you a few lines, while Fr. Marie is walking in Scutari. We are all very well and we are marvelously at home in this nice individual house that the Lazarist Fathers indicated to us.

We would have left for Smyrne today, but the boat service is disorganised, and we have to wait until Thursday or Friday.

Now what can I tell you about the beautiful town of Constantinople? I travelled all over it and the more I see of it, the more I admire. There are some magnificent things, we visited several mosques, the most beautiful of which is certainly Saint Sophie’s in Stamboul; it was erected by Constantine in 325.

The basilica was entirely burnt down in 532. Justinian 1st rebuilt it, and it is to him that the edifice owes its current form. Justinian wanted it to be the most durable and most magnificent monument of all eras; the whole Empire was stripped bare to decorate it.

The Grand Bazaar of Constantinople is a curious thing. This inextricable labyrinth forms, with its streets, alleys, passages, and crossroads, a town within the town itself.

Each street is assigned a specialty. The Grand Bazaar closes every evening before sunset and doesn’t open until nine o’clock in the morning.

On Fridays, the Turkish boutiques are closed, and on Saturdays it’s the Jews’ turn. On Sundays, the same goes for the Christians.

We visited the cistern Asparis; it rests upon 64 columns and was constructed under Leo the Great.

Now, my first daughter, my poppet, my diamond, let’s talk things over a bit. I can see, by rereading your last letter, that you couldn’t be managing better while I’m not there. Continue in this way and you’ll please me. Poor poppet, why can’t I have you near me, throughout my lovely trip!...

Tell my “little Paulin” that I often think of her as well and I thank God for having given her such a lofty vocation. Thank her for her lovely letter for me and don’t forget to present my humble respects to Madame Marie de Gonzague.

We hope to be in Athens on Sunday and from there we shall go to Naples. I’m counting on going to fetch news from all of you at the post office.

Give a tight hug to Léonie, Céline, my Queen, and my beautiful little Pearl for me. Alas! It is impossible through her grilles. Lastly, give lots of good wishes to your uncle and aunt, as well as to Jeanne and Marie. A little pat on the head for Tom, the good faithful dog. Is he still pining after me?

Your father who loves you.

P.-S. You did well to give them pears; give, always give and make people happy.

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Louis Martin à sa fille Marie - 16 septembre 1885

 

De Louis Martin à sa fille Marie

Constantinople, 16 septembre 1885.

Chère Marie,

J’ai un instant et j’en profite pour t’envoyer quelques lignes, pendant que M. l’abbé Marie est en promenade à Scutari. Nous nous portons très bien et nous nous trouvons à merveille dans cette bonne maison particulière indiquée par les Pères Lazaristes.

Nous serions partis aujourd’hui, pour Smyrne, mais le service des bateaux est désorganisé, il faut que nous attendions à jeudi ou à vendredi.

Que te dirai-je maintenant de cette belle ville de Constantinople ? Je l’ai parcourue en tous sens et plus je la vois, plus je l’admire. Il y a des choses magnifiques, nous avons visité plusieurs mosquées, dont la plus belle est certainement Sainte- Sophie, à Stamboul ; elle fut érigée par Constantin, en 325.

Cette basilique fut brûlée entièrement en 532. Justinien 1er la rebâtit, et cest à lui que cet édifice doit sa forme actuelle. Justinien voulut que ce monument fût le plus durable et le plus magnifique de toutes les époques ; tout lEmpire fut dépouillé pour lorner.

Le grand bazar de Constantinople est quelque chose de curieux. Cet inextricable labyrinthe forme, avec ses rues, ses ruelles, ses passages, ses carrefours, une ville dans la ville même.

Chaque rue est affectée à une spécialité. Le grand bazar se ferme tous les soirs, avant le coucher du soleil et ne s’ouvre que vers neuf heures du matin.

Le vendredi, les boutiques turques sont fermées, le samedi, c’est le tour des juifs ; le dimanche, il en est de même pour les chrétiens.

Nous avons visité la citerne d’Asparis ; elle repose sur 64 colonnes et fut construite sous Léon le Grand.

Maintenant, ma première, ma grande, mon diamant, causons un peu de nos petites affaires. Je vois, en relisant ta dernière lettre, que tu t’y prends on ne peut mieux pendant que je ne suis pas là ; continue ainsi et tu me feras plaisir. Pauvre grande, que ne puis-je t’avoir près de moi, pendant tout mon beau voyage !…

Dis à mon cher « petit Paulin », que je pense souvent à elle aussi et je remercie le bon Dieu de lui avoir donné une aussi haute vocation. Remercie-la bien pour moi de sa bonne lettre et n’oublie pas non plus de présenter mon humble respect à Madame Marie de Gonzague.

Nous espérons être dimanche à Athènes et, de là, nous irons à Naples. Alors seulement, je compte aller chercher des nouvelles de vous toutes, poste restante.

Embrasse bien fort, bien fort pour moi ma Léonie, ma Céline, ma Reine ; ma belle petite Perle, hélas ! c’est impossible à travers ses grilles. Enfin, dis beaucoup de choses aimables à ton oncle et à ta tante, ainsi qu’à Jeanne et à Marie. Une petite tape sur la tête de Tom, le brave chien fidèle. Me pleure-t-il encore ?

Ton père qui t’aime.

P.-S. Tu as bien fait de donner des poires ; donne, donne toujours et fais des heureux.

Retour à la liste des correspondants